File under Personal Development

I’ve been collecting inspirational quotes lately. Probably due to the influence of The Positivity Blog.

Here are some of my favorites. Whenever I find myself in need of a little pick me up, I try to quote these in my head:

  • I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.’ -Kurt Vonnegut

KV often quoted this piece of advice from his uncle. I count myself amongst the lucky people who were personally able to hear him quote it at Severance Hall a few years ago

  • Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.-Minor Myers Jr (President of Illinois Wesleyan University 1989-2003)
  • Be the change you wish to see in the world.-Gandhi
  • The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience. – Eleanor Roosevelt
  • Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain
  • Out of clutter, find simplicity, from discord, find harmony, in the middle of difficulty lies opportunity. – Albert Einstein
  • The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing but burn, burn, burn like fabulous roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww’ -Jack Kerouac

Leave a comment